菜单

构建标准化的数据架构

(或:如何获得主集成商状态)

slices of an orange cylinder with a white coating spread into a circular shape on the right side of a gray background
目录

云应该可以修复所有问题

—让您的整个运营变得更好,更快,更强大。在许多方面,它都有。但很可能,您的数据湖已经开始类似于大太平洋垃圾修补程序。它不是垃圾,而是 " 堆积 " 数据—设计不当,不必要地复杂且通常不需要的代码。

没有人希望累积 crusft 代码。此外,还有一些最佳实践可用于从基础架构的暗角中清除数据。在清理技术债务时,您将获得一个难得的机会来重新组织整个企业:连接,集成和全面改进公司的数据和应用程序。数据可以位于任何位置,包括内部,云中,两者之间,但利用和管理这些数据的业务流程必须显而易见。(而且从旅途中看不到它们,这也是为什么会有这么多的人把您的 ATtic 紧紧地紧紧地抓住的原因。)

与此同时,变革的速度令人清醒。McKinsey & Company 发现,到 2020 年 6 月,电子商务在这一季度的增长速度比过去 10 年加快。这不仅仅是因为规模的扩大,我们知道数据的范围已经扩大。事实上,物理通道正在消亡。随着人类行为不断变化,我们的日常生活也在线上发展,并进入软件即服务( SaaS ),平台即服务( PaaS )和基础架构即服务( IaaS )渠道,企业必须通过预测变化而不是对变化做出反应来支持这种增长。这从 IT 团队开始。您的团队

为什么选择这本电子书? 

本电子书旨在帮助您了解如何以及为何构建标准化数据架构,这是一组统一标准,用于控制收集的数据以及数据的存储,集成和使用方式。它并不是要绘制一个昂贵的参考架构,而是让您实施 sans 环境。最终,我们希望帮助您掌控云端,数据中心和边缘的数据。为此,请构建一个合理的数据服务堆栈,以便在基础架构中实现融合,进而在日常运营中实现融合。幸运的是,您的 IT 团队已经具备了促进互联集成存储基础架构的技能,因此您的公司可以在技术蓬勃发展的同时取得成功。让我们更深入地了解构建标准化数据架构的三大障碍以及如何解决这些障碍。


connect-space-race.jpg

进入空间(嗯,云)竞赛

如果您不是一家数字化优先的公司,您将落后于人。要取得比同行更成功的成果,您必须加快数字化工作,而不是减慢其速度。即使您已经完全实现了数字化,您也可能会发现,您为构建一个精简的堆栈所做的努力会被无序的数据或难以实现的流程所混淆。这种摩擦及其伴随而来的障碍正是我们所说的变化 - 稳定性矛盾。

变化 - 稳定性的矛盾 

数字化将应用程序领导者推向两个反向方向:承担适应新竞争环境的风险或保持现状。从组织和技术角度来看,变革已经在发生,它需要在应用程序,存储架构和众多其他相邻技术方面取得相应的进步。同时,企业不应引入太多风险。他们需要保持能力和运营稳定性,尤其是在当前的经济环境下。这种推拉让企业无法为变革做好充分的准备,因为在这种需求冲突的环境中,企业无法正确开发解决未来问题所需的工具和架构。但是,这个问题不是无法解决的;您可以通过清点资源,确定薄弱点并制定明确的计划来平衡风险和回报来解决这个问题。

有三个前风阻碍了标准化架构

根据我们的经验,在您着手创建标准化架构时,可能会遇到三个主要障碍:

1. 数据存在于一个并行的世界中 

暗数据,冷存储,软盘—我们已见过。从本质上说,您的无规则数据导致了效率低下的现象的累积,而这些现象已经影响到您的系统。此外,您的组织可能还存在技术债务(或 " 代码债务 " )。技术债务的产生来自于以最快速的方式对解决方案进行代码编写,而不是以更高效,更昂贵的方式进行代码编写。例如,假设开发人员继承了一个仓促编程的功能的原有代码;几年后,该代码可能无法理解。如果原始代码背后的思路不明确或代码不够清晰,则向功能更强,标准化程度更高的数据管理模式过渡将是一场艰难的斗争。当代码变得混乱时,通常会涉及重构。由于这些属性,迁移到标准化数据架构的成本和难度(即 " 技术债务 " )都更高。 

2. 基础架构方面的资金要求比较紧

遗憾的是,获得基础架构资金并非总是易事。为什么?" 枯燥 " 的后端问题无法在桌面上占有同等的席位,而其他业务计划往往优先于优化存储的项目。因此,资金错误可能会阻碍云采用,关键升级以及您的长期竞争优势。IT 部门不需要通过投资基础架构来快速轻松地实施未来的改进,而是可以获得相当于更多的 cat 视频。在没有最佳实践的情况下构建的每一项新的战术改进都增加了技术负担,这意味着未来构建任何冷酷产品都将出现外部和延迟。

3 ,存在着一个理念数据困境 

我们是将 " 云 " 放在数据中心还是将 " 数据中心 " 放在云中?随着基础架构的可编程性, IT 和运营主管将基础架构关键方面的责任移交给软件开发人员;这一迁移不可避免地会导致组织出现问题。为什么?因为软件开发人员是一个非常好的人。如果开发人员在基础架构决策中发挥更强的作用,则可能会出现看似非传统的选择, IT 主管可能无法立即了解这些选择。我们见证了 " 基础架构开发人员 " 的兴起,这是一位新的超级英雄。她是代码创建者,自动化工程师和整体构建经理。她是一位工具制造商,颠覆了过时的职业孤岛概念,推动企业重新思考基础架构,数据,云和代码。因此,在不断变化的世界中,您必须不断重新思考角色。而对于理念性数据的困境,这取决于它。正如我们将要讨论的那样, " 云 " 和 " 数据中心 " 不必互相排斥。 


connect-integration.jpg

整合的重要性:如何克服三大障碍并摆脱 " 混乱的惯性 "

要实现统一堆栈,您需要进行连接和集成。谈到数据架构时,您必须谈论存储。通过快速浏览您的数据中心,您已经知道,您所处的环境中存在着一个由不同阵列和高度定制的集成代码组成的巨大空间,这些阵列和代码可以细分数据孤岛,从而有助于信息共享。尽管公有云似乎可以解决问题,但它们也容易受到数据孤岛的影响。在这种情况下,统一数据服务堆栈可以解决多个问题。下面介绍了如何构建。

1.确定可以停用或重新构建的系统的优先级,然后确定应将哪些系统迁移到公共云。  

制定并记录您的多云战略是制定通用数据架构的第一步,也是必不可少的步骤。评估旨在解决多个数据子系统问题的现有技术。您的目标是在一个解决方案上实现标准化,该解决方案可提供可预测性和通用管理,不受运行该解决方案的数据中心或公共云的影响。  

2. 选择基于云的新解决方案。  

想想您有哪些自动化机会,然后您可以在整个系统生命周期内计划债务偿还(换言之,持续改进已部署的云解决方案)。  

3. 通过与利益相关方合作减少复合技术债务。  

请确保涵盖 IT 及其他所有领域(尤其是企业架构和应用程序开发团队),以便您可以管理其直接权限之外的债务。 


可以将应用程序与云中的新服务集成在一起,并减轻技术负担

执行这些步骤后,您可以将数据中心扩展到云中。摆脱了不同数据控制平面的复杂性,跨云管理和管理许多工作负载变得更加简单。企业可以从每个云提供商的功能中受益,而不会影响运营的可预测性。这意味着企业现在可以放心地将业务关键型应用程序和企业级存储服务(以前需要重新构建)迁移到公共云。请记住,领先的云平台不仅支持应用程序(包括虚拟机和容器管理系统)的巨大基础架构要求,而且还提供全局自动调整功能。通过此功能,企业可以将数据中心应用程序迁移到云平台。我们重申:您可以将应用程序与云中的新服务集成在一起,并支付技术债务。良好的集成是指让应用程序和数据结构协同工作,无论它们位于企业内部还是外部。这意味着 IT 团队可以自由创建一个强大,通用且性能高的存储架构,以展示可信且可量化的业务价值。反过来,您可以为整个组织定义通用准则,并考虑业务目标,优势,风险和关键采用标准。换言之,压力更小,业务成果更好,休息室提供免费的浓缩咖啡。现在,关于实际要构建此… 的人员

让 IT 团队的生活更轻松 

请考虑 IT 团队面临的日常挑战: 

  1. IT 部门以外的开发团队正在处理自定义软件应用程序或企业聊天机器人。每个自行开发的应用程序都有自己的一组在云中的生活要求。它不会像 SAP 和 Oracle 那样随附说明手册。 

  2. 某些业务部门员工需要将新收购的应用程序与现有系统快速集成,实际上,这已经在使用第三方集成服务。 

  3. 不专门从事应用程序和系统集成的员工必须在自己的项目范围内完成此任务,例如开发自定义移动应用程序或内部数据库。

所有这些任务都给 IT 员工增加了工作的复杂性,给他们带来了沉重的负担。

释放主集成商的成就

由于技术负担和成本的增加,基础架构的现代化在一开始可能会更加昂贵。简单的解决方案?在标准数据存储环境中部署和构建。通过现代化,您可以防止出现 entropy 状态。您正在为公司的未来进行规划,而不再仅仅是在频繁重构过程中中断或耗费大量时间时修复问题。这种统一环境将广泛的云和内部应用程序,系统和数据库连接在一起,并可同时部署在云和内部。在公共云中部署此架构时,通常可为应用程序提供预定义的 API ,并可通过标准化工具构建自定义连接器。换言之,这种成就?您已解除锁定。


connect-pony.jpg

然后每个人都有一个小马

这是我们通常采用 NetApp 解决所有这些问题的方法的一部分。 

但我们不会这样做。我们不会这样做。我们会轻轻地轻声细语。但是,如果您感兴趣,请执行以下操作: 

  • 我们开发了一个几乎可在任何位置运行的统一数据服务堆栈。 

  • 我们提供一套全面统一的存储和数据管理服务。 

  • 这些产品可在内部,云中以及之间的所有变体中使用。 

  • 我们的产品提供标准化保障,在您离开工作岗位后很长一段时间内便可实现更好的 GIG 。(因此,您无需担心旧代码太糟糕或会加重公司的技术债务负担。) 

无论您的数据位于何处,现在都是掌控数据,连接数据并进行集成的时候了。

下载电子书

下一步行动

Menu

Build a standardized data architecture

(or: How to achieve Master Integrator status)

slices of an orange cylinder with a white coating spread into a circular shape on the right side of a gray background
Table of contents
Cloud Services

The cloud was supposed to fix everything

—making your entire operation better, faster, stronger. And in many ways, it has. But chances are, your data lake is starting to look like the Great Pacific Garbage Patch. Instead of trash, it’s “cruft” data—code that is poorly designed, unnecessarily complicated, and generally unwanted.

No one wants a buildup of cruft code. And there are best practices for sweeping the cruft out from the dark corners of your infrastructure. When you clean up technical debt, you’re presented with a rare opportunity to reorganize the whole house: connecting, integrating, and generally improving your company’s data and applications. The data can live anywhere—on premises, in the cloud, in between—but the business processes for harnessing and managing that data must be apparent. (And they’re rarely apparent from the get-go, which is why there’s so much cruft cluttering your attic.)

Meanwhile, the speed of change is sobering. McKinsey & Company found that, by June 2020, e-commerce grew faster in that one season than it had during the past 10 years. That’s not just because of scale—we know the data universe has expanded. The fact is, physical channels are dying. As human behavior adapts and our daily lives move online and into software-as-a-service (SaaS), platform-as-a-service (PaaS), and infrastructure-as-a-service (IaaS) channels, organizations must support that growth by anticipating change rather than reacting to it. That starts with IT teams. Your team.

Why this e-book? 

This e-book aims to help you understand how and why to build a standardized data architecture—a set of unified standards that govern which data is collected and how it’s stored, integrated, and used. It’s not about drawing a fancy reference architecture and leaving you to implement sans context. Ultimately, we want to help you take ownership of your data—in clouds, data centers, on the edge. To do this, build a sound data services stack that creates cohesion in your infrastructure and, in turn, in your day-to-day operations. Luckily, your IT teams already have the skills to facilitate a connected and integrated storage infrastructure so that your company can succeed amid the tech boom. Let’s take a closer look at three obstacles to building a standardized data architecture and how to address them.


connect-space-race.jpg

Entering the space (well, the cloud) race

If you’re not a digital-first company, you’re behind. To be more successful than your peers, it’s vital that you accelerate your digital efforts, not slow them down. Even if you’ve already gone fully digital first, you might find your efforts to build a streamlined stack confounded by disorganized data or elusive processes. This friction and its attendant hurdles are what we call the change-stability paradox.

The change-stability paradox 

Digitalization pulls application leaders in two opposing directions: Embrace the risk of adapting to a new competitive climate or maintain the status quo. Change is already here, both organizationally and technologically speaking, and it demands corresponding advances in applications, storage architecture, and myriad other adjacent technologies. Meanwhile, firms shouldn’t introduce too much risk. They need to maintain capabilities and operational stability, particularly in the current economic climate. This push-pull leaves organizations underprepared for change, because in this environment of conflicting demands, they can’t properly develop the tools and architectures needed to tackle future problems. But this problem isn’t unconquerable; you can resolve it by taking inventory, identifying your weak spots, and developing a clear plan that balances risk with reward.

Three headwinds impeding standardized architecture

In our experience, you might encounter three primary impediments as you set out on your quest to create a standardized architecture:

1. Your data exists in a parallel universe 

Dark data, cold storage, floppy disks—we’ve seen it all. In essence, your unruly data has contributed to a buildup of inefficiencies that’ve barnacled to your systems. On top of that, your organization might have technical debt (or “code debt”). Technical debt results from hurrying to code a solution in the most expeditious manner, rather than a more efficient and more expensive way. For example, suppose developers inherit the legacy code of a hastily programmed feature; after a couple of years, that code will probably be incomprehensible. If the thinking behind the original code isn’t clear or the code isn’t sufficiently clean, the move toward a more functional, standardized data management model is an uphill battle. When the code gets messy, refactoring is often involved. These attributes make it more expensive and difficult (the “debt” in “technical debt”) to move to a standardized data architecture. 

2. The purse strings are tight when it comes to infrastructure

Unfortunately, it’s not always easy to get infrastructure funding. Why? “Boring” back-end issues don’t have an equal seat at the table, and other business initiatives often take precedence over projects to optimize storage. As a result, misguided funding can stymie cloud adoption, critical upgrades, and your longterm competitive edge. Rather than receiving infrastructure investments that will make future improvements quick and easy to implement, IT departments get the equivalent of more cat videos. Each new tactical improvement built without best practice cloud architectures adds to technical debt, which means extraneousness and delays in building anything cool in the future.

3. There’s a philosophical data dilemma 

Do we put “cloud” in the data center or the “data center” in the cloud? As infrastructure becomes programmable, IT and operations leaders are ceding responsibility for key aspects of infrastructure to software developers; organizational fissures inevitably result from this move. Why? Because software developers are, well, singular—in a good way. A stronger developer role in infrastructure decisions leads to choices that might seem unorthodox, and IT leaders might not immediately understand those choices. We’ve witnessed the rise of the “infrastructure developer,” a new superhero. She is a code creator, automation engineer, and overall build manager. She’s a tool maker who disrupts outdated notions of occupational silos, pushing companies to rethink infrastructure, data, cloud, and code. So, in a changing world, you must rethink roles, constantly. And as for the philosophical data dilemma, it depends. As we’ll discuss, “cloud” and “data center” don’t have to be mutually exclusive. 


connect-integration.jpg

The importance of integration: How to overcome the three impediments and emerge from “chaotic inertia”

To arrive at a unified stack, you’ll need to connect and integrate. When you talk about data architecture, you must talk about storage. You already know from a quick glance around your data center that you’re living with a hodgepodge of different arrays and heavily customized integration code that break down data silos to aid information sharing. Although public clouds seem to hold the answer, they’re prone to data silos, too. This is where a unified data services stack can solve several problems. Here's how to build it.

1. Prioritize the systems that can be retired or rearchitected then decide which of those should be moved to public cloud.  

Nailing down and documenting your multi-cloud strategy is a first and essential step to laying out your common data architecture. Assess the technology that exists that is squarely aimed at solving the problem of multiple data subsystems. Your goal is to standardize on a solution that provides predictability and common management, independent of the data center or public cloud it runs on.  

2. Select new cloud-based solutions.  

Think about where you have opportunities for automation, then you can plan for debt repayment throughout the lifecycle of the system (in other words, continuous improvement of deployed cloud solutions).  

3. Reduce compound technical debt by partnering with stakeholders.  

Make sure to include all domains of IT and beyond (especially enterprise architecture and application development teams) so that you can manage debt that’s outside of their direct purview. 


You can integrate your applications with new services in the cloud and pay off technical debt

After you’ve taken these steps, you can extend data centers into the cloud. Freed from the complexity of the different data control planes, managing and administering many workloads across clouds becomes drastically simpler. Enterprises can benefit from each cloud provider’s features without sacrificing operational predictability. This means that firms can now confidently move business-critical applications and enterprise-grade storage services—which formerly would have required rearchitecting—to public clouds. Remember that the leading cloud platforms not only support huge infrastructure requirements for applications (including virtual machines and container management systems), but they also provide global autoscaling. This capability has enabled organizations to migrate their data center applications to cloud platforms. We repeat: You can integrate your applications with new services in the cloud and pay off technical debt. Good integration is about making your applications and data structures work together, whether they’re inside or outside your organization. This means IT teams have the latitude to create a robust, common, and highperforming storage architecture that demonstrates credible, quantifiable business value. In turn, you can define common guidelines for the entire organization, accounting for business objectives, benefits, risks, and key adoption criteria. In other words, less stress, better business outcomes, and free espresso shots in the break room. Now, about the people who are actually going to build this…

Make life easier for your IT teams 

Consider the reality of your IT teams’ day-to-day challenges: 

  1. Development teams outside the IT department are working on custom software applications or corporate chatbots. Each homegrown application has its own set of requirements for living in the cloud. It won’t come with an instruction manual the way SAP and Oracle would. 

  2. Some line-of-business employees need to quickly integrate newly acquired applications with existing systems, and in fact do this already using third-party integration services. 

  3. Staff members who don’t specialize in application and system integration are required to do so within the scope of their own projects—for example, developing a custom mobile application or an internal database.

All of these tasks burden IT staff members by adding superfluous complexity to their jobs.

Unlocking the Master Integrator achievement

Modernizing your infrastructure might be more costly at the start because of technical debt and cruft. The simple solution? Deploy and build in a standard data storage environment. Modernizing allows you to guard against a state of entropy. You’re planning for your company’s future, no longer just fixing things as they break or burning copious amounts of time in frequent refactoring. This unified environment connects a wide cross-section of cloud and on-premises applications, systems, and databases, and can be deployed both in the cloud and on premises. This architecture, when deployed in a public cloud, typically offers predefined APIs for applications and standardized tools for building custom connectors. In other words, that achievement? You’ve unlocked it.


connect-pony.jpg

And then everyone got a pony

This is the part where we’d generally tout NetApp’s approach to solving all of these problems. 

But we’re not going to do that. We don’t tout. We gently whisper. But, in case you’re interested: 

  • We’ve developed a unified data services stack that runs on almost anything. 

  • We offer a comprehensive and unified set of storage and data management services. 

  • Those offerings work on premises, in the cloud, and in or on all variations in between. 

  • Our products offer standardization that’s guaranteed long after you’ve left your job for a better gig. (So, there’s no need to worry about pesky legacy code or contributing to your company’s technical debt burden.) 

No matter where your data lives today, now is the time to master it, connect it, and integrate it.

Download the eBook

Next steps