菜单

五个预警信号表明您的公有云支出有问题

(以及现在可以执行的控制存储成本的 10 项操作)

下载电子书 充分发挥云的潜能
薄荷绿背景中缺少一块的橄榄绿球体
目录
Cloud Services

云存储是全球范围内增长最快的企业资源需求之一

事实上,从发展前景来看,未来 5 年预计生成的数据总量约为 175 ZB(即 1750 亿 TB),其中 60% 的数据将由像您这样的企业创建。据我们统计,这足以填满大约 116 千万亿张 3.5′′ 软盘。(如果您恰好在德罗宁时光机里于 1985 年读到此内容,这会是一个特别有用的参考数字。)最有趣的是?这些数据的一半应驻留在公有云中。

同时,所有这些数据生成组织中的无数个数据用户都越来越频繁地与其数据进行交互。据估计,数据网络(真有这个词,您可以查查看)中的用户大约每分钟与数据交互一次,到 2025 年,该频率预计将增加到每 18 秒一次。 

请勿恐慌;您的组织将正常运行。事实上,无论您以后遇到什么样的常态,数据都是您实现蓬勃发展的关键。云对于您的企业来说绝对是一个好东西,您只需制定合适的战略,让它更好地为您服务。在此云支出指南中,我们将向您介绍一些战略,旨在帮助您在不可避免的数据大灾难中生存下来。

从数据中心低潮到云平静

在云之前,您的组织喜欢通过资本支出购买固定数据中心生态系统中的大量存储。相似的硬件上同时存在多种数据类型,因此无论您是否真正需要存储,分配存储都是一项相当简单的任务。IOPS 非常丰富,非常安全,像拉斯维加斯赌场一样密不透气。您可能有一个存储管理员团队,负责照顾您的每一个存储想法。 

但随后又发生了一些问题,各种官僚主义和一连串的繁文缛节阻碍了快速恢复。您梦想的是您的存储能更好地为您服务,如同过于急切的实习生在研究一堆电子表格。 

然后,您的梦想变成了现实 — 通过云实现了梦想。如今,您已将复杂的数据中心管理换成了轻松的月度运营支出 (opex),该支出可提供几乎无限的可扩展性和灵活性。听起来不错,对吧?但是,正如任何精明的会计专业人员所证明的那样,运营支出会在月底悄然而至,此时您的利润率就像一个缓慢消失的“绿洲”。现在,存储费用是基于多个因素来支付的,这些因素涉及不同的存储类型、层级、协议和成本。 

意外成本不可避免地会造成您的利润损失。罪魁祸首在哪里?缺少分层、未取消配置的旧版虚拟机 (VM) 以及不必要的快照等因素的任意组合所致。哎,仅仅怀有云梦想是不够的。无论您是希望优化组织的云存储,还是仅仅寻找经济高效地扩展云存储使用的方法,您都将受到组织永不满足的降低云存储成本的需求的制约。是不是听起来很熟悉?

下面我们来讨论五个关于您可能遇到云支出问题的预警信号,然后我们将为您提供真正的解决方案 — 您现在可以通过 10 种方式立即解决失控的云成本问题。就像今天这样。


五个预警信号表明您的公有云支出有问题

您还在阅读,因此可以安全地假定,您感觉您的组织在云上的支出超支了。如果您出现以下一种或多种问题,则可以肯定地诊断为云支出问题。

cloud-five-warning-signs.jpg


01. 没有人知道公司开设的所有公有云帐户

一家典型的企业拥有多个云提供商的多个帐户。由于公有云旨在赋予组织中的任何人设置帐户和分配资源的能力,因此那些有支出决定权的人通常执行这样的操作,而往往不会集中通知创建帐户。影子 IT 帐户随处可见。每个影子帐户都可以追溯到缺乏中央控制,似乎从未有人知道存在哪些帐户以及正在使用哪些帐户。通常的结果是随意配对,而不是通过有效的讨论来帮助您关注真正的问题。


02. 没有人能完全解释公司的月度云账单 

您组织的月度云账单可能有很多页,其中包含数千行信息并且引用了许多服务名称、实例类型和区域,这些内容不一定都是一目了然的。当然,存储卷的定价可能看似简单,但请查看您的最新账单,并尝试理解(更不用说解释)所有额外费用以及这些费用与特定业务计划的关系。这种情况往往几乎不可能实现。现在是时候推出这款魔力云成本解码器了。


03. 无法将已批准的购买情况跟踪到计划或成本中心 

3 号预警信号通常会指向匿名超支者。当谈到谁在刷信用卡以及这些消费热潮背后的原因时,您有一个盲点。在第二个预警信号的基础上,拥有多个团队、项目和预算的组织通常不需要花时间将云存储和服务消耗量映射到项目和(或)成本中心。结果是没有人能解释清楚经常性支出。这将会是一块绊脚石。


04. 所有容量均以按需价格购买  

云的优势在于,您可以按需购买所需的任何存储(以及其他云资源)。虽然这种按需购买 (PAYGO) 方法为您的组织提供了控制额外存储的最简单方法,但现实情况是,您通常不需要刚刚购买的存储。哦,这是一种讽刺。

我们刚才提到的一个账单混乱得令人困惑?它表明没有良好管理的购买流程,并且完全缺少混合购买。以购买 AWS 按需实例为例。尽管按需允许您根据需要启动虚拟机,但使用 AWS 预留实例可以获得高达 75% 的折扣。再进一步,Spot 实例(即为满足您需求的备用弹性计算云实例付费)可为您节省多达 90% 的成本

看到没有?如果您不分青红皂白地支付按需价格,可以肯定的是您没有支出战略或使用计划,只是像您的友好邻居影子 IT 那样随意购买了大量物品。他们只是希望组织支付超额费用。他们是正确的,您会支付费用,但业务成本如何?


05. 没有人定期查看消耗或输出效率 

重大新闻:使用数据的成本与起初分配数据的成本一样高。此处有两个问题。第一个问题:您的存储使用效率如何?您不想为完全未使用的存储付费,肯定也不希望为本可存储在成本较低的存储层上的数据支付最昂贵存储层的费用。在“较冷”的存储层中,每月成本可能会从 $0.20-$0.30/GB 一直下降到 $0.02/GB。

第二个问题:从云中(或云间)输出数据。这是定价要素之一,您可能在概念上完全理解它们,但并不准确知道实际每月成本是多少。这与将成本与计划保持一致(取证工作)有关。需要有人跟踪已输出的数据,并确定持续输出是否合理。例如,不知情的开发人员可能只是将测试数据复制到其内部端点,以加快某些代码的测试速度。定期这样做会增加大量费用,而这往往是可以完全避免的。需要有人负责查看、提问和调整与这些费用相关的最佳实践。


不难发现您自己的云存储支出问题 

无论规模大小,所有企业都可以很容易地发现自己处于这些云存储困惑中。首要挑战有两个方面。

首先,每个人都在使用云,就好像它是专为满足他们的需求而存在一样,任何人都不关心由此给企业带来的成本。 

其次,存在可见性挑战;很难将支出与企业需求和负责的用户联系起来。如果没有可见性,则会导致缺乏问责制。每次都是如此。不幸的结局是,像您这样的组织的最终支出远远超过了应有的支出。


cloud-ten-things.jpg

现在可以执行的立即控制存储成本的 10 项操作

坏消息是,您遇到了云存储支出问题。好消息是,第一步(通常也是最困难的一步)就是承认您存在问题。您可以立即采取一些切实可行的步骤来开始解决此问题。以下 10 个提示虽然主要以 IT 为中心,但可以帮助云每个云存储移动部分的所有者查看其使用情况并减少其存储占用空间,从而使组织能够控制支出。

01. 删除未连接的云存储

虚拟机终止后,通常只会自动删除与虚拟机关联的根卷。为了避免意外删除,额外的存储卷仍会保持原样并产生存储成本(在某些情况下,这是设计上的要求)。降低云成本的一个简单方法是查找和删除未连接的卷。这是一个毋庸置疑的选择 — 如果您不使用存储,请将其删除。但是,与任何未受限制的资源一样,这需要进行一些检测工作来确定存储的所有者并让他们证明存储是否需要存在。谁知道数据可能如此存在?


“热”存储层(通常用于存储频繁访问的数据)的价格可能比对应的“冷”存储层的价格高 5 倍。

02. 购买合适的存储层

每个公有云提供商都提供多个存储层。然而,每个人似乎都选择最快(也是最昂贵的)层,几乎不考虑或甚至根本不考虑成本。如果成本较高,则一定较好,对吗?不一定。

每月每 GB 层价格通常取决于访问数据的频率和速度。“热”存储层(通常存放需要低延迟、高性能、高吞吐量和高可用性的频繁访问的数据)的价格可能比对应的“冷”存储层(备份和归档等不常访问的数据应驻留在该层)的价格高 5 倍。

在评估存储层时,请考虑您的性能和成本要求,以便在需求与预算目标之间取得平衡。您始终可以稍后将数据移动到另一层。


03. 正确调整未充分使用的存储卷的大小 

要在云存储上浪费资金,最简单的方法就是创建一个从未适当使用的存储卷。云提供商不允许您缩减存储卷。NetApp 建议您先完成识别超大卷的过程,然后创建具有实际需要的空间的新卷,迁移现有数据并删除超大卷。将来,只需为卷创建过程实施更好的存储需求评估。


04. 根据所需吞吐量降级存储 

云提供商还提供性能层来满足您的吞吐量需求。您可以通过监控给定卷的实际读写访问来降低存储成本;如果吞吐量较低,则将其降级到较低的性能层。这样可以降低存储 IOPS,以便更好地与使用该 IOPS 的工作负载保持一致,同时降低成本。


05. 确定存储所需的冗余级别 

当人们可以选择在任何地方复制数据时,他们往往会变得恐慌并选择一个遥远的位置。但是,您是否确实需要英国的数据来防止因美国的飓风等原因而丢失数据?答案当然是否定的,除非这是一场真真正正的大飓风。这类决策会对成本产生实质性影响;例如,不同地区的冗余的成本可能是本地冗余的两倍。明智地规划您的冗余需求非常重要,您可以借鉴业务影响分析和风险评估来确定实际需要的内容。


心算:通过根据容量和吞吐量选择合适的存储层,并仅在高峰使用时间跳到更高的存储层,您可以节省高达 70% 的月度云费用。
06. 删除旧快照 

快照是所有虚拟机恢复战略的主要内容。通过多个快照,IT 组织可以根据特定的灾难恢复场景还原到特定时间点。最后一点是删除工作负载所有者所需的内容。但是,如果您有数百个虚拟机,每个虚拟机每天创建快照,而不删除前一天的快照,则云存储成本将呈指数级增长。您必须制定快照到期战略。幸运的是,大多数云提供商都有某种形式的快照生命周期策略来自动删除,无需依赖任何个人操作。


07. 管理出站数据传输请求 

移动数据会耗费资金。这就是事实。但是,这些成本并不是完全相同的。在云中,数据传输成本取决于源和目标云服务器的位置。入站流量通常空闲(或足够近)。但是,当数据传输到云提供商的网络之外(也称为数据输出)时,成本会快速增长。请记住,就数据所有者而言,传输的目的是“我需要完成”,而不是“以这种方式实现经济高效”。要解决此问题,请鼓励用户将数据存储在尽可能接近实际使用位置的地方,以避免需要将其移动到其他位置。此外,还应考虑在数据输出之前对数据进行压缩和重复数据删除,并使用增量同步节省传输成本。最后,如果您可以删除数据或将其移动到归档层,请使用 zeal 执行此操作。


08. 最大限度地减少跨区域和跨地区数据传输 

当数据在区域、国家或地区或者可用性地区之间移动时,云提供商会向您收取更多费用。这些数据传输可以是 DevOps 用来维护测试数据的应用程序架构的一部分,也可以是冗余战略的一部分。因此,数据传输需要有针对性且获得批准。让在尽可能接近用户群的地理位置托管必要的数据成为您的目标。从长期来看,请考虑重新构建解决方案,以最大限度地减少数据传输所需的路径。


09. 监控存储定价层 

存储和数据传输的定价通常会根据使用量增加额外的成本层。如果您达到云提供商定价表中的指定级别(如“大于 <存储量>”等术语所示),您可能能够协商更合理的价格。请注意,较高的折扣仅适用于满足定价要求的存储数据。最后,您可能会被限制在一个长期合同中。您应尝试遵守该合同的约束,同时寻找方法根据增加的超时使用量来协商降低成本。


“只需考虑如何构建基于云的架构,公司每季度可以节省数十万美元,有时甚至每月节省 10 万美元。”

10. 清理存储中未完成的上传

某些工作负载要求用户上传文件。在这种情况下,中断上传有时会导致部分对象停留在云存储中,成为不可用的数据,使您产生实际成本。根据大小,不完整的上传可能会导致大量的浪费,因为管理员往往害怕删除或移动任何内容(请参见步骤 6)。最佳操作方法是备份未完成的上传内容,然后将其删除。


解决公有云支出问题的后续步骤

您必须立即采取行动。 

尽管这 10 个步骤可以显著降低云存储成本,但组织需要一种方法来更深入地了解整个组织中已购买、分配、使用和浪费的存储。 

所需的是一种可以为关注支出和云存储运行状况的组织中的一个或多个成员提供支持的方法。采用云提供商提供的报告、计算器和其他工具,是实现云支出可见性和集中管理的坚实首要步骤。 

在掌握这些基础知识之后,您需要了解专为评估、收集、聚合、分析和报告云支出(包括存储)而设计的第三方解决方案。 

首先确认存在云支出问题,然后立即采取上述 10 个步骤,您就可以开始控制组织的云存储成本。为了确保成本节省能够持续下去,策略、流程和其他技术可以帮助您的组织控制失控的云支出。

下载此电子书
Microsoft Azure

Microsoft Azure

NetApp 与 Microsoft Azure 集成打造一项第一方服务,旨在充分利用云的优势,同时帮助企业以更精简的方式实现目标。

了解有关 Microsoft Azure 的更多信息
Google Cloud

Google Cloud

借助终极工具包来根据您的需求优化云性能,以实现企业的目标。由 NetApp 构建,与 Google Cloud 配套使用。

了解有关 Google Cloud 的更多信息
AWS

AWS

利用 NetApp 的云服务,以更低的风险实现强大的数据迁移 — 这些服务均基于客户的反馈构建,由我们与 AWS 合作推出。

了解有关 AWS 的更多信息

下一步行动

Menu

Five warning signs that you may have a public cloud spending problem

(and 10 things you can do now to control storage costs)

olive green sphere with piece missing atop mint green background
Table of contents
Cloud Services

Cloud storage is one of the fastest-growing business resource demands on the planet

In fact, the total amount of data estimated to be generated over the next 5 years is around 175 zettabytes1 (for perspective, that’s 175 billion terabytes), 60% of which will be created by businesses like yours. By our count, that’s enough to fill around 116 quadrillion 3.5′′ floppy disks. (That’s a particularly helpful reference if you happen to be reading this in your DeLorean time machine circa 1985.) And the most interesting bit? Half of all that data is expected to reside in the public cloud.

Simultaneously, the countless data users across all those data-generating organizations are interacting more frequently with their data. It’s estimated that users in the datasphere (it’s a real word, look it up) interact with data approximately once a minute, and by 2025 that frequency is expected to increase to one interaction every 18 seconds

Don’t hit the panic button yet; your organization will be just fine. In fact, data is your key to thriving in whatever next normal gets thrown your way. And cloud is absolutely a good thing for your business, you just need the right strategy to make it work harder for you. In this cloud spending guide, we walk you through strategies designed to help you keep your head above water in the inevitable data tsunami that’s headed your way.

From data center doldrums to cloud calm

Before the cloud, your organization enjoyed a world in which capital expenditures (capex) bought ample storage that existed within a fixed data center ecosystem. Multiple data types coexisted on similar hardware, making the allocation of storage—regardless of whether you really needed it or not—a reasonably simple task. The IOPS were glorious and abundant; the security, airtight like a Vegas casino. You probably had a team of storage administrators on the payroll to attend to your every storage whim. 

But then something broke down, and the corridors of bureaucracy and its cascade of red tape hindered quick recovery. You dreamed of the day when your storage would work harder for you, like an overeager intern poring over a stack of spreadsheets. 

Then your dream became some version of reality—you made it to the cloud. And today, you’ve exchanged the complexity of data center management for an easy monthly operating expense (opex) that offers virtually infinite scalability and flexibility. Sounds great, right? But as any astute accounting major can attest, that opex can sneak up on you at the end of the month, when your profit margin resembles a slowly disappearing oasis. Paying for storage is now based on multiple factors that involve separate storage types, tiers, protocols, and costs. 

Inevitably, unexpected costs will bite you in your bottom line. The culprit? Any combination of a lack of tiering, legacy virtual machines (VMs) that aren’t deprovisioned, and unnecessary snapshots, to name a few. Alas, simply living the cloud dream is not enough. Whether you’re seeking to optimize your organization’s cloud storage, or just searching for ways to cost effectively expand your cloud storage use, you’re going to be constrained by your organization’s insatiable need to lower the cost of cloud storage. Sound familiar?

Let’s talk about the five warning signs that you may have a cloud spending problem, and then we’ll give you what you really came for—10 ways you can immediately address out-of-control cloud costs, right now. Like, today.


Five warning signs that you may have a public cloud spending problem

You’re still reading, so it’s safe to assume that you have a sense that your organization is overspending on cloud. If you have one or more of the following symptoms, a cloud spending problem is a safe diagnosis.

cloud-five-warning-signs.jpg


01. No one knows all the public cloud accounts the company has open

A typical enterprise maintains multiple accounts with multiple cloud providers. Because the public cloud is designed to empower anyone in an organization to set up an account and allocate resources, those with spending discretion often do so without any centralized notification of account creation. Shadow IT accounts pop up everywhere. Each one can be traced back to the lack of central control, and there never seems to be a single person who knows what accounts exist and what’s in use. The typical result is a finger-pointing match rather than a productive discussion to help you place your finger on the real issue.


02. No one can fully explain the company’s monthly cloud bills 

Your organization’s monthly cloud bill probably spans a dizzying number of pages that contain thousands of lines and reference many service names, instance types, and regions, none of which are necessarily self-explanatory. Sure, storage volume pricing may seem straightforward at first glance, but look at your latest bill and try to comprehend—let alone explain—all the additional charges and how they relate to specific business initiatives. It’s often next to impossible. Time to pull out that magic cloud cost decoder ring.


03. There’s no way to trace approved purchases to initiatives or cost centers 

Warning sign number 3 often goes back to the anonymous overspender. You have a blind spot when it comes to who is swiping the credit card—and what’s behind these spending sprees. Building on the second warning sign, organizations with multiple teams, projects, and budgets often don’t take the time to map their cloud storage and service consumption to projects and/or cost centers. The result is regular recurring spending that no one can explain. And that’s a drag.


04. All capacity is purchased at on-demand prices  

The beauty of the cloud is that you buy whatever storage (and other cloud resources) you need...on demand. Although this pay-as-you-go (PAYGO) method gives your organization the easiest means to curate additional storage, the reality is that more often than not, you don’t need what you just purchased. Oh the irony.

That confounding mess of a bill we just mentioned? It shows that there’s no managed procurement process and reveals a complete lack of blended purchasing. Take the example of purchasing AWS On-Demand Instances. Even though On-Demand lets you spin up a VM at will, using AWS Reserved Instances instead gives you a discount of up to 75%. Taking it one step further, Spot instances (where you pay for a spare Elastic Compute Cloud instance that meets your needs) can save you as much as 90%

See? If you‘re indiscriminately paying On-Demand prices, you can safely assume that there’s no spending strategy or usage plan—just a bunch of random purchases made by individuals acting much like your friendly neighborhood shadow IT. They just expect the organization to pay the overages. And they’re right, you will pay, but at what cost to the business?


05. No one is regularly reviewing consumption or egress efficiency 

Breaking news: Using data can be as costly as allocating it in the first place. There are two issues here. First up: How efficiently is your storage being used? You don’t want to pay for completely unused storage, and you definitely don‘t want pay for the most expensive tier of storage offered for data that could be stored on a less costly one. Costs can drop from $.20-$.30/GB all the way down to $.02/GB per month in “colder” storage tiers.

Second player at bat: Egressing data from the cloud (or among clouds). This is one of those pricing components that you probably fully comprehend in concept, but you don’t accurately know what actual monthly cost it translates into. This ties back to aligning costs with initiatives—the forensics work. Someone needs to trace data that’s egressed and determine whether the constant egress makes sense. For example, an unsuspecting developer might be simply copying test data to their on-premises endpoint to speed up the testing of some code. Doing this regularly adds up to huge fees, and it’s often completely avoidable. Someone needs to be on top of reviewing, questioning, and adjusting best practices around these charges.


It’s not difficult to find yourself with a cloud storage spending problem 

All organizations, regardless of size, can easily find themselves in these cloud storage quandaries. The overarching challenge is twofold.

First, everyone is using the cloud as if it exists exclusively to meet their needs, and no one is concerned about the resulting cost to the business. 

Second, there’s a visibility challenge; it’s difficult to tie spending back to business needs and the user who’s responsible. And without visibility comes a lack of accountability. Every time. The unfortunate result is that organizations like yours end up spending far more than they should.


cloud-ten-things.jpg

Ten things you can do now to control storage costs immediately

The bad news is that you have a cloud storage spending problem. The good news is that the first (and often hardest) step is admitting that you have a problem. There are practical steps you can take literally today to begin fixing the problem. The following 10 tips, although they’re largely IT-centric, can help the owners of each moving part of cloud storage to review their usage and reduce their storage footprint, enabling the organization to rein in spending.

01. Remove unattached cloud storage

When your VMs are terminated, normally only the root volume associated with the VM is automatically deleted. The additional storage volumes remain intact and incur storage costs— in some cases by design, to avoid accidental deletion. An easy way to reduce cloud costs is to find and delete unattached volumes. This one’s a no-brainer—if you’re not using the storage, get rid of it. But, as with any untethered resources, that involves some detective work to identify who owns the storage and have them attest to its need to exist or not. Who knew that data could be so existential?


"Hot" storage tiers (which ususally hold frequently accessed data) can be priced as much as 5 times higher than their "cold" tier counterparts.

02. Purchase the right storage tier

Every public cloud provider offers a number of storage tiers. And yet everyone seems to choose the fastest (and most expensive) level, with little or no regard for cost. If it costs more, it must be better, right? Not necessarily.

The GB/month tier price is generally based on how often and how quickly you need to access your data. “Hot” storage tiers (which usually hold frequently accessed data that requires low latency, high performance and throughput, and high availability) can be priced as much as 5 times higher than their “cold” tier counterparts (where infrequently accessed data, such as backups and archives, should reside).

Consider both your performance and cost requirements when assessing storage tiers, balancing your needs with attention to budgetary targets. You can always move it to another tier later.


03. Rightsize underused storage volumes 

There’s no easier way to waste money on cloud storage than to create a storage volume that is never used appropriately. Cloud providers don’t let you shrink storage volumes. NetApp recommends that you first go through the process of identifying oversized volumes, then create a new volume with the space you actually need, migrate the existing data, and delete the oversized volume. In the future, simply implement better storage need assessments for the volume creation process.


04. Downgrade storage based on throughput required 

Cloud providers also offer performance tiers to meet your throughput needs. You can reduce storage costs by monitoring the actual read-write access of a given volume; if throughput is low, then downgrade it to a lower performance tier. This reduces the storage IOPS to be better aligned with the workload using it, while reducing cost.


05. Determine the level of redunancy needed for storage 

When people have the option to replicate data anywhere, they tend to get panicky and choose a far-away location. But do you really need your data in the United Kingdom to protect against a loss of data due to, say, a hurricane in the United States? The answer, of course, is no, unless it’s a really, really big hurricane. These sorts of decisions have a material impact on cost; for example, redundancy across different geographies can be twice as expensive as local redundancy. It’s important to plan your redundancy requirements wisely, taking a page from business impact analysis and risk assessments to determine what’s actually needed.


Mental Math: By choosing the right storage tier based on capacity and throughput, and jumping to a higher storage tier only at peak usage times, you can save up to 70% on your monthly cloud bill.
06. Delete old snapshots 

The snapshot is a staple of any virtual machine recovery strategy. Multiple snapshots give IT organizations the ability to restore to a specific point in time, based on a specific disaster recovery scenario. The last thing you want is to delete something that the owner of the workload needs. But when you have hundreds of VMs, each creating snapshots daily without deleting the previous day’s snapshot, your cloud storage costs grow exponentially. You must establish a strategy around snapshot expiration. Fortunately, most cloud providers have some form of snapshot lifecycle policy to automate deletions, eliminating the need to rely on any one individual.


07. Manage outbound data transfer requests 

Moving data costs money. That’s a fact. But those costs are not all created equal. In the cloud, the cost of transferring data depends on the location of the source and the destination cloud servers. Inbound traffic is normally free (or close enough). But when data is transferred outside the cloud provider’s network (aka data egress), it gets expensive fast. And remember, as far as the data owner is concerned, the transfer is all about “I need it done,” not “it’s cost effective to do it this way.” To address this issue, encourage users to store data as close to where it’s actually used as possible, to eliminate the need to move it somewhere else. Also consider compressing and deduplicating data before egress, using incremental synchronization to save on transfer costs. Finally, if you can delete data, or move it to an archive tier, do so with zeal.


08. Minimize cross-region and cross-zone data transfer 

When data moves across regions, countries, or availability zones, cloud providers get to charge you more. These data transfers can be part of an application’s architecture, used by DevOps to maintain test data, or they can be a part of a redundancy strategy. So data transfer needs to be both purposeful and sanctioned. Make it your goal to host necessary data as geographically close to its userbase as possible. Over the long run, consider rearchitecting solutions to minimize the path your data needs to travel.


09. Monitor storage pricing tier 

Pricing for both storage and data transfers often includes additional cost tiers based on consumption. If you reach specified levels in the cloud provider’s pricing table—as indicated by terms such as “greater than <storage amount>”—you are likely to be able to negotiate a better price. Keep in mind that higher discounts apply only to stored data that meets the pricing requirement. Finally, you may be locked into a multiyear contract. You should try to stay within the constraints of that contract, while looking for ways to negotiate costs down based on increased usage overtime.


“Companies can save hundreds of thousands of dollars a quarter, sometimes even $100,000 a month simply by considering how they architect their cloudbased architecture.”

10. Clean up incomplete uploads from storage

Some workloads require users to upload files. In this scenario, interrupted uploads sometimes result in partial objects that linger in cloud storage as unusable data that costs you real money. Depending on size, incomplete uploads can add up to tons of waste because admins tend to be afraid to delete or move anything (see step 6). The best course of action is to back up incomplete uploads and then delete them.


Next steps to eliminating your public cloud spending problem

It’s imperative that you do something now. 

Although these 10 steps can materially reduce cloud storage costs, organizations need a way to gain more visibility into what storage has been purchased, allocated, used, and wasted across the entire organization. 

What’s needed is a means to empower one or more members of the organization who are concerned with what’s being spent and how well their cloud storage works. Embracing reporting, calculators, and other tools offered by cloud providers is a solid first step toward visibility and centralized management of your cloud spending. 

Once you’ve outgrown those basics, you’ll need to look at third-party solutions designed to assess, collect, aggregate, analyze, and report on your cloud spending—including storage. 

By first acknowledging that cloud spending problems exist and then taking immediate action with the 10 steps just described, you can start to gain control over your organization’s cloud storage costs. To ensure that the savings are sustainable, policy, process, and additional technology hold the answers to reining in your organization’s out-of-control cloud spending.

Download this eBook

Next steps