菜单

什么是横向扩展 NAS?

立方体

横向扩展网络连接存储 (NAS) 可应对结构化和非结构化数据的爆炸式增长以及当今工作负载的性能需求。横向扩展存储架构可利用集群组件的卓越价格和性能,实现无中断运行,并采用基于策略的管理来提高效率和灵活性。

通过将横向扩展存储架构与服务器虚拟化功能相结合,可以打造一个动态企业数据中心,该中心可以快速适应不断变化的业务需求,并能够快速对应用程序进行配置和停用,配置和重新配置资源以及无中断迁移应用程序和数据。

横向扩展 NAS 带来的价值使其成为一个经济高效的存储选项。您无需从头开始过度配置,只需在存储需求增加时添加新容量即可。通过简化管理并降低数据中心空间需求,横向扩展 NAS 解决方案有助于控制 IT 预算。

Scale-Out FlexArray 的工作原理

横向扩展 NAS 支持繁重的并发载入工作负载—将容量,性能和存储配置简单性完美地结合在一起。通过在单个集群中进行扩展,内存和网络资源可在各个操作之间进行优化。

在横向扩展架构中,可以轻松添加和配置新硬件,以满足不断变化的业务需求。当横向扩展系统达到其存储限制时,只需添加另一个阵列即可提高应用程序所需的容量和性能。用户可以将集群作为一个系统进行管理,并通过一个全局命名空间来管理数据,这样,无论数据的物理位置如何,跨数据中心或地理位置的多个节点都可以作为一个逻辑单元来工作。

Scale-Out 软件的优势:

横向扩展 NAS 可在一个可扩展的命名空间中支持高性能,高容量和高文件数工作负载,并具有低延迟,无中断运行和卓越的存储效率。

  • 无限制地提供海量容量。在一个可扩展到 PBS 及更高版本并支持数十亿个文件的命名空间中构建一个无孤岛的最佳存储平台。
  • 满足关键工作负载的性能需求。使用同一个存储容器提供可预测,一致的低延迟和高吞吐量性能。
  • 简化部署和管理只需几秒钟即可轻松配置一个大规模的单个命名空间,以满足不断增长的数据需求—使用一个界面消除管理复杂性。
  • 提高用户工作效率。所有数据都将呈现给用户,就像位于同一位置一样。

横向扩展 NAS 与传统 Scale-Up

随着数据的快速增长,现在是评估横向扩展与横向扩展的时候了纵向扩展存储架构。纵向扩展是传统块和文件存储平台最常见的形式。纵向扩展架构由一对控制器和多个驱动器架组成,仅限于存储控制器的可扩展性限制。如果需要更多容量,则必须添加另一个驱动器架。

横向扩展存储可以灵活地响应不断变化的业务需求,控制成本和复杂性以及优化资源,从而解决旧的纵向扩展架构的局限性。横向扩展存储系统使用一组服务器来构成集群存储阵列,并通过网络提供 LUN 或文件共享,就像传统阵列一样。但是,随着横向扩展阵列容量的增加,其性能也会随之提高。此外,由于添加节点不会造成中断,因此向阵列添加容量和性能不需要停机。

为什么选择 NetApp Scale-Out 自动化?

NetApp®NAS 解决方案 可简化数据管理,帮助您在优化成本的同时跟上增长步伐。利用 NAS 解放方案,您可以在一个统一的存储架构中实现无中断运行、经验证的高效率和无缝可扩展性。我们在 27 年前构建了 NAS 行业,现在继续创新 横向扩展 NAS ,以便在您的系统中快速,大规模地进行基于文件的非结构化数据管理 混合多云

NetApp ONTAP 横向扩展 NAS 可利用庞大的 ONTAP 生态系统,在创新方面发挥着重要的领导作用,并对未来的积极创新具有远见。每天,我们都允许客户构建自己独特 的数据网络结构 ,在内部使用 全闪存 AFF混合闪存 FAS以及软件定义的 ONTAP Select 到 AWS , Azure , Google , IBM 等。集成的复制,备份,分层和缓存支持在任何端点上运行 ONTAP 。我们很荣幸能够在适用于横向扩展 NAS 的混合多云以及整个产品组合中成为云互联闪存的领导者。

继续阅读

Menu

Scale-Out NAS

cubes

Scale-out network-attached storage (NAS) addresses the explosive growth of structured and unstructured data, and performance demands of today’s workloads. A scale-out storage architecture takes advantage of the superior price and performance of clustered components, facilitates nondisruptive operations, and employs policy-based management for improved efficiency and agility.

Combining a scale-out storage architecture with server virtualization capabilities results in a dynamic enterprise data center that can rapidly adapt to changing business requirements—with the ability to quickly commission and decommission applications, provision and re-provision resources, and non-disruptively migrate applications and data.

The value delivered by scale-out NAS makes it a cost-effective storage option. Instead of overprovisioning from the start, you can simply add new capacity as your storage needs increase. And with streamlined management and reduced data center space requirements, scale-out NAS solutions help to contain IT budgets.

How Scale-Out NAS Works?

Scale-out NAS supports heavy concurrent ingest workloads—blending capacity, performance, and simplicity to provision storage. By scaling within a single cluster, memory and network resources are optimized across operations.

In a scale-out architecture, new hardware can be easily added and configured to support changing business requirements. When a scale-out system reaches its storage limit, simply add another array to increase the capacity and performance required by the application. Users administer the cluster as a single system and manage the data through a single, global namespace—allowing multiple nodes, across data centers or geographies to work as a single logical unit, regardless of the physical location of the data.

Benefits of Scale-Out NAS

Scale-out NAS supports high-performance, high-capacity, and high-file-count workloads with low-latency, non-disruptive operations, and superb storage efficiency in a single scalable namespace.

  • Massive capacity without limitations. Build an optimal storage platform, without silos, in a single namespace that scales to PBs and beyond and supports billions of files.
  • Meet performance demands of key workloads. Deliver predictable, consistent low latency and high-throughput performance with the same storage container.
  • Simplify deployment and management. Easily provision a massive single namespace in a matter of seconds to keep pace with growing data requirements—eliminate management complexity using one interface.
  • Increase user productivity. All data is presented to users as if it were in the same location.

Scale-Out NAS vs. Traditional Scale-Up

With the rapid pace of data growth, it is now time to evaluate scale-out vs. scale-up storage architectures. Scale-up has been the most common form of traditional block and file storage platforms. Consisting of a pair of controllers and multiple shelves of drives, the scale-up architecture is restricted to the scalability limits of the storage controllers. When you need more capacity, you must add another shelf of drives.

Scale-out storage address the limitations of older scale-up architectures with the flexibility to respond to changing business needs, contain costs and complexity, and optimize resources. Scale-out storage systems use a group of servers to form a clustered storage array and provide LUNs or file shares over a network—just like a traditional array. However, as the capacity of a scale-out array increases so does its performance. And, since adding nodes is non-disruptive, it does not require downtime to add capacity and performance to the array.

Why NetApp for Scale-Out NAS?

NetApp®NAS solutions simplify data management and help you keep pace with growth while optimizing costs. Our NAS solutions give you nondisruptive operations, proven efficiency, and seamless scalability within a unified architecture. Having built the NAS industry 27 years ago, we continue to innovate scale-out NAS for unstructured file-based data management at speed and scale across your hybrid multi-cloud.

NetApp ONTAP scale-out NAS leverages the massive ONTAP ecosystem, with a significant innovation lead and vision for aggressive future innovation. Every day, we’re future-proofing our customers’ investments by allowing them to build their own unique data fabric weaving on-prem All-Flash AFF, hybrid flash FAS, and software-defined ONTAP Select to AWS, Azure, Google, IBM, and more. Integrated replication, backup, tiering and caching support ONTAP on any endpoint. We’re proud to be the leader for cloud-connected flash across the hybrid multi-cloud for scale-out NAS and across our entire portfolio.

Continue reading