菜单

什么是最终用户计算 (EUC)?

侧面放置的灰色放大镜
主题

从最严格的意义上讲,最终用户计算 (EUC) 是指帮助非程序员创建应用程序的计算机系统和平台。然而,EUC 及其相关技术虚拟桌面基础架构 (VDI) 还有许多其他优势,因为它基本上是在中央服务器上托管桌面环境。它被视为桌面虚拟化的一种形式。

EUC/VDI 计划取得成功的关键在于,无需系统专业知识即可将平台的组件提供给用户和管理员,从而可以更流畅地向最终用户推出新技术。鉴于角色和职责的范围,任何用于支持计划的平台都应直观、灵活、可扩展且易于管理。若平台具有这些特性,适应不断变化的数字化工作空间就无需具备太高的专业知识水平。

重要的是,精心设计的 EUC/VDI 计划可以使用户访问所需的数字化平台,从而提高内部和云中远程工作的工作效率。

为什么要使用 EUC?

工作环境发生了巨大的变化已经不是什么秘密了。企业需要采用新的工作方式才能生存下来、保持成功并恢复增长。对弹性和业务连续性的要求正在推动企业重新设计和重新调整运营。EUC/VDI 处于重要地位,因为向远程员工交付应用程序是成功的关键。

同时,当今的用户也发生了变化。作为内容的创建者和使用者,他们需要访问日益丰富的数据、图像、视频和声音来完成工作,而一些更为极端的用户则需要与图像进行高精度的交互。从基于任务的用户到 3D 图形图像用户,许多组织都拥有各种类型的用户。

改变和适应这些新需求的能力决定了组织的定义。为了实现所需的桌面灵活性、敏捷性和移动性,通常需要经过云优化的新基础架构,这些基础架构可以通过简单的自动化流程和工具按需进行扩展。

最终用户计算用例

许多组织正在研究如何使用超融合基础架构 (HCI) 平台来实施其 EUC/VDI 计划。几个主要用例说明了构建此解决方案的价值,该解决方案旨在支持混合工作负载环境,而无需具备有关计算、网络和存储平台的专业知识。

远程办公室

对于物理占用空间多种多样的企业来说,提供一致的数字化工作空间资源可能会面临重重挑战。EUC/VDI 解决方案可以提高桌面的一致性,并可访问远程办公室中的用户应用程序。可以轻松添加新用户,并最大限度地减少故障排除任务。

合规性和许可控制

对于关注合规性或希望改进软件许可管理的组织,EUC/VDI 环境可以为所有用户桌面和应用程序提供一个集中式平台。借助这一集中式平台,可以严格管理安全性,并控制软件许可。EUC/VDI 环境可以提供用户执行工作所需的一切,同时还可以密切维护各个用户安装的外部软件范围。

远程员工和 BYOD 用户

现在,几乎每个组织都必须支持远程员工。这种现实情况需要一套更加多样化的数字平台。EUC/VDI 环境是实现混合多云体验的第一步,它可以在不违反组织运营标准的情况下支持这种多样性。此外,EUC/VDI 解决方案还可以设计为提供桌面和应用程序,以便远程用户可以在多个设备上轻松使用这些桌面和应用程序,并在满足组织的平台要求的同时提高工作效率。

为什么最终用户计算很重要?

使用 EUC/VDI,目标是确定对日常运营至关重要的所有关键应用程序或数据库,并将这些应用程序或数据库整合到与桌面相同的优化平台中。通过这种方法,可以在一个提供用户所需性能的解决方案中确定和优化负责日常运营的系统的范围以及用户桌面。使用 HCI 平台时,几乎无需具备维护 EUC/VDI 环境所需的技能,而且对维护运营所需技能的要求也较低。

云技术和集成的进步也对 EUC 和 VDI 产生了巨大影响。现在,企业需要多种选项来帮助提高员工工作效率,同时还要保护数据安全,降低成本和管理高度可变的工作负载。一个强大的云基础架构有助于实现这一点。采用混合方法应对物理、虚拟和云桌面是不可避免的,也是一种最佳实践。

NetApp® 适用于虚拟桌面的云解决方案可帮助您充分利用云中 VDI 的优势,同时避免许多围绕成本和复杂性的挑战。

  • 我们的虚拟桌面服务 (VDS) 提供了一个全局控制平台,用于在任何云环境中配置、部署和管理虚拟桌面
  • 我们的 Cloud Volumes 系列(包括 Microsoft Azure 云中的 Azure NetApp Files)可提供企业级 VDI 环境所需的可扩展性、稳定性和性能
  • NetApp 的 Cloud Backup 和 SaaS Backup 服务可确保您的用户数据安全且始终可用,同时我们的 Cloud Compliance 服务可确保您始终满足合规要求且无后顾之忧

新的混合方法的优势

与大多数复杂的企业挑战一样,没有一种方法适合所有企业。但是,显而易见的是,企业应该开始对现有 VDI 环境进行现代化改造,或者在私有云和公有云之间部署现代 VDI 解决方案。如果由于计划内或计划外事件,您要将运营扩展到云,以便保持业务连续性,那么 NetApp VDI 解决方案将允许您运行要求最苛刻的任务关键型 VDI 应用程序和工作负载,同时提供高级数据管理功能。

大多数企业都是将公有云和私有云结合在一起运行。让两者共存也会带来一系列难题:产生 VDI 孤岛和数据孤岛、管理变得复杂以及用户体验碎片化。NetApp 通过将 VDI 应用程序和数据与位置分离来起到帮助作用。我们可以在任何云上实现一致、可重复和可预测的体验。

更多与 EUC-VDI 相关的主题

Menu

What is end-user computing (EUC)?

gray magnifying glass laying on its side
Topics

In its most strict sense, end-user computing (EUC) refers to computer systems and platforms that help non-programmers create applications. However, there is a lot more to EUC and its related technology, virtual desktop infrastructure (VDI), which essentially hosts desktop environments on a central server. It is considered a form of desktop virtualization.

Key to the success of an EUC/VDI initiative is bringing the components of the platform to users and managers without requiring systems expertise, allowing a more fluid introduction of new technologies to end users. Given the scope of roles and responsibilities, any platform that is used to support an initiative should be intuitive, agile, scalable, and manageable. These features reduce the level of expertise required to keep up with the changing digital workplace.

What’s important is that a well-designed EUC/VDI plan can allow users to access the digital platforms they need to be productive, both on-premises and working remotely in the cloud.

Why use EUC?

It’s no secret the work environment has changed dramatically. Businesses require new ways of working to survive, remain successful and return to growth. Resiliency and business continuity are driving organizations to redesign and recalibrate operations. EUC/VDI is at the forefront as application delivery to a remote workforce becomes critical for success.

At the same time, today’s users have changed. As creators and consumers of content they demand access to increasingly rich data, images, video and sound in order to do their jobs, while some of the more extreme users need to interact with images at high precision. Many organizations have all types of users, from the task-based up to the 3D graphical image user.

The ability to change and adapt to these new requirements defines an organization. To achieve the required level of desktop flexibility, agility and mobility often requires new cloud optimized infrastructures that can be scaled on demand with simple, automated, processes and tools.

End-user computing use cases

Many organizations are investigating how to use a hyper converged infrastructure (HCI) platform for their EUC-/DI initiatives. A few key use cases illustrate the value of building this solution, which is designed to support mixed workload environments without the need for specialized knowledge of compute, network, and storage platforms.

Remote offices

For organizations with a diverse physical footprint, it can be challenging to deliver consistent digital workplace resources. An EUC/VDI solution offers an opportunity to deliver improved consistency in the desktop and access to user applications in remote offices. It's easy to add new users and troubleshooting tasks can be minimized.

Compliance and licensing control

For organizations that are concerned with regulatory compliance, or that want to improve management of their software licensing, an EUC/VDI environment can deliver a centralized platform for all user desktops and applications. With this centralized platform, security can be tightly managed and software licensing can be controlled. The EUC/VDI environment can be designed to provide everything that users need to perform their jobs while closely maintaining the range of external software installations by individual users.

Remote workers and BYOD users

Supporting a remote workforce is now mandatory in almost every organization. This reality requires a more diverse set of digital platforms. An EUC/VDI environment is the first step toward a hybrid multi-cloud experience that can support this diversity without breaking organizational standards of operation. And an EUC/VDI solution can be designed that provides desktops and applications so that remote users can easily consume them across multiple devices and can increase productivity while adhering to the organization's platform requirements.

Why is end-user computing important?

With EUC/VDI, the objective is to identify all the key applications or databases that are critical to daily operations and consolidate those into the same optimized platform as the desktops. With this approach, the scope of systems that are responsible for daily operations is identified and optimized along with the user desktops in a solution that delivers the performance users require. When using an HCI platform, the skills required to maintain the EUC/VDI environment are minimized, and the skills required to maintain operations are lower.

Advances in cloud technology and integration have also greatly impacted EUC and VDI. Organizations now need multiple options to help enable worker productivity while also securing data, lowering costs, and managing highly variable workloads. A robust cloud infrastructure helps support that. A hybrid approach to physical, virtual and cloud desktops is inevitable – and a best practice.

NetApp® cloud solutions for virtual desktops help you capitalize on the benefits of VDI in the cloud while avoiding many of the challenges around cost and complexity.

  • Our Virtual Desktop Service (VDS) provides a global control plane to provision, deploy, and manage virtual desktops in any cloud environment
  • Our Cloud Volumes family, including Azure NetApp Files in the Microsoft Azure cloud, provide the scalability, stability, and performance demanded by enterprise-class VDI environments
  • NetApp's Cloud Backup and SaaS Backup services ensure that your user data is secure, and always available, while our Cloud Compliance services keeps you compliant and worry-free

The benefits of a new, hybrid approach

As with most complex enterprise challenges, there is not one size fits all. What’s clear, however, is that companies should get started either modernizing your existing VDI environment or deploying modern VDI solutions across private and public clouds. If you are expanding your operation into the cloud to maintain business continuity due to either planned or unplanned events, then NetApp VDI solutions will allow you to run the most demanding, mission-critical VDI applications and workloads while delivering advanced data management capabilities.

Most businesses run on a combination of public and private clouds. Co-existence brings its own set of challenges: VDI silos, data silos, management complexity, and fragmented user experiences. NetApp helps by decoupling VDI application and data from location. We enable a consistent, repeatable and predictable experience on any cloud.

More EUC-VDI related topics