菜单

什么是勒索软件?

粉色背景中浮动的粉色卡片
主题
停止勒索软件

勒索软件是一种允许外部人员访问和加密他人文件、删除原始文件,并在未支付赎金的情况下威胁删除这些文件的唯一剩余(加密)副本的软件。在电影中,部署勒索软件的用户通常被描绘为一名屡教不改的惯犯。

但说实话,勒索软件只是一种产品,通常可以在互联网上找到,任何人都可以轻松学会使用。换言之,勒索软件攻击很常见,并且可能会削弱内部或受影响云中的文件。

勒索软件攻击是如何发生的?

勒索软件攻击迅速发生。在您意识到存在威胁之前,黑客就已窃取到了信息,还对有价值的文件进行了加密,并要求您支付赎金,之后才会将这些文件交还给您。通常,黑客会要求提供一定数量的比特币,但支付赎金并不总是能够最大限度地减少损失。勒索软件攻击后,可能需要数周时间才能全面评估勒索软件攻击的四个阶段所造成的损失。

第 1 阶段:渗透

您可能会将黑客视为屡教不改的惯犯,但普通人可以轻松访问任意数量的勒索软件即服务产品。不幸的是,使用这些勒索软件服务获取被盗凭据并分发恶意软件就像使用几乎任何其他在线服务一样简单。

黑客只需使用合适的软件即可访问重要信息,攻击就会开始。

第 2 阶段:连接

只需一个访问点即可使勒索软件正常运行。勒索软件会联系受害者的远程网络,并生成一个用于文件加密的密钥(在第 3 阶段)。

在连接阶段,勒索软件基本上会在受影响用户的文件中进行翻找,以查找具有价值的文件。毕竟,这些文件的价值需要配得上黑客将要索取的赎金。

第 3 阶段:加密

这是勒索软件攻击的“勒索”部分 — 目标文件被加密或被盗,然后原始文件被删除。换言之,勒索软件会将您的文件作为人质。释放数据的唯一方法是对其进行解密,只能使用在第 2 阶段生成的密钥进行解密。

第 4 阶段:敲诈

现在,黑客要求支付一笔费用来交换密钥,通常会给予一定的时间限制来满足他们的需求。如果您不这样做,您就会面临黑客删除密钥并永不解密文件或向公众发布您的数据的风险。

通常,受害者会满足这些需求,勒索软件攻击从而完成。

Ransomware Illustration Image
勒索软件 — 视频

如何防止勒索软件攻击

要防止勒索软件攻击,需要仔细关注数据的各个方面。它需要一个多层解决方案来处理多层问题。我们的方法包括基础架构管理、监控和服务,可帮助您保护、检测和从网络威胁中恢复。

基础架构管理

NetApp 从以数据为中心的方法着手,通过提供其行业领先的企业级混合云基础架构管理软件 NetApp® ONTAP® 来防范勒索软件。毕竟,犯罪分子会将您的数据作为目标,因此在存储层开始保护是有意义的。借助 ONTAP 软件,您可以:

  • 在几秒钟内创建只读精细恢复点并应用安全文件锁定
  • 监控存储异常(包括数据熵)以识别网络威胁
  • 只需几分钟即可从精细高效的 NetApp Snapshot™ 副本快速还原数据

基础架构监控

了解您拥有的数据类型、存储位置以及谁有权访问是任何网络弹性计划的重要一步。NetApp Cloud Data Sense 是一项云数据服务,可让您跨内部和云存储查看数据,从而确定最重要的数据。您还可以锁定权限以获得更有效的安全性。

Active IQ 提供了新功能,可帮助您确定安全状况中的缺陷,以及根据 NetApp 最佳实践为强化 ONTAP 存储环境而需要采取的步骤。您可以定期监控您的环境并根据最新的 NetApp 软件版本进行调整,以确保数据安全无虞。

大多数攻击都涉及毫无戒心的用户,甚至是恶意管理员。您需要一个包括全天候关注在内的严格审查级别,这一点使用 NetApp Cloud Insights 更容易实现。此服务会仔细监控您的数据,以便:

  • 突出显示可能导致攻击的风险
  • 在攻击发生时将其检测出来
  • 执行自动化操作以帮助避免大范围破坏

无论是在内部还是在云端,Cloud Insights 都可以通过使用零信任技术全面了解您的基础架构和应用程序。它可以持续监控用户行为,了解用户的正常情况,以便检测有无异常。当 Cloud Insights 检测到异常时,它会立即向您发出警报并触发即时操作,例如创建 Snapshot 副本以协助快速恢复或阻止访问用户文件以防止数据泄漏。

基础架构服务

有时,您需要更多帮助:值得信赖的合作伙伴根据 SLA 提供的专业知识。为了在勒索软件威胁发生之前确定您的数据保护准备情况,NetApp 提供了一项数据保护和安全评估服务,用于确定您当前环境(内部环境和云)中的安全缺陷和漏洞,并为消除这些缺陷提供切实可行的建议,以提高数据弹性。为了让您更有信心保护您的业务免受安全威胁,NetApp Flex 专业服务订阅中包含的 NetApp 勒索软件监控和报告服务可充分利用 Cloud Insights 和 Cloud Secure 的强大功能为您的环境提供额外保护。这些服务将共同帮助您在攻击突破防护时快速做出响应并尽快恢复。

继续阅读有关勒索软件的信息

Menu

What is ransomware?

pink cards floating on pink background
Topics
Stop ransomware

Ransomware is any software that allows an outsider to access and encrypt another’s files, delete the originals, and then threaten to delete the only remaining (encrypted) copy of the files if the ransom isn't paid. In the movies, the user deploying the ransomware is typically portrayed as a hardened criminal.

But truthfully, ransomware is simply a product—usually found on the internet—that anyone can learn to use easily. In other words, ransomware attacks are common, and they can be debilitating to files on-premises or in the victim’s cloud.

How do ransomware attacks happen?

Ransomware attacks happen quickly. Before you realize there's a threat, the hackers have stolen information, have encrypted valuable files, and are demanding that a ransom be paid to release those files back to you. Usually, the hacker demands a certain amount in Bitcoin, but paying the ransom doesn’t always minimize the damage. It can take weeks after a ransomware attack to fully assess the damage done in the four phases of a ransomware attack.

Phase 1: Infiltrate

You might think of a hacker as a hardened criminal, but the average person can easily access any number of ransomware-as-a-service offerings. Unfortunately, using these ransomware services to obtain stolen credentials and distribute malware is as easy as using almost any other online service.

All it takes for a hacker to gain access to vital information is the right software, and the attack begins.

Phase 2: Connect

Just one point of access is enough for the ransomware to get to work. The ransomware contacts the victim’s remote network and generates a key that will be used for file encryption (in phase 3).

During the connection phase, the ransomware is essentially rummaging through the victim’s files to find ones with value. After all, these files need to be worth the ransom that the hacker is about to demand.

Phase 3: Encrypt

This is the “ransom” part of a ransomware attack—targeted files are encrypted or stolen, and then the original files are deleted. In other words, ransomware holds your files hostage. The only way to free your data is to decrypt it, which can only be done with the key that was generated in phase 2.

Phase 4: Extort

The hacker now demands that a sum be paid in exchange for the key, typically applying a time limit within which you must meet their demands. If you don't, you risk the hacker deleting the key and removing any possibility of decrypting your files or releasing your data to the public.

Victims typically fulfill these demands, and the ransomware attack is complete.

Ransomware Illustration Image
Ransomware - Video

How to prevent ransomware attacks

Preventing a ransomware attack requires careful attention to every aspect of your data. It requires a multilayered solution to what is a multilayered problem. Our approach includes infrastructure management, monitoring, and services to help you protect, detect, and recover from cyberthreats.

Infrastructure management

NetApp starts with a data-centric approach to protect against ransomware by offering NetApp® ONTAP®, its industry-leading enterprise hybrid cloud infrastructure management software. After all, criminals are targeting your data, so it makes sense to start your protection at the storage layer. With ONTAP software, you can:

  • Create granular, read-only recovery points in seconds and apply secure file locking
  • Monitor storage anomalies, including data entropy, to identify cyberthreats
  • Restore data quickly in minutes from granular and efficient NetApp Snapshot™ copies

Infrastructure monitoring

Understanding what kind of data you have, where it's stored, and who has access is an important step for any cyber resilience plan. NetApp Cloud Data Sense is a cloud data service that gives you visibility into your data across on-premises and cloud storage so you can identify what data matters most. You can also lock down permissions for more effective security.

Active IQ includes new functionality to help you identify gaps in your security posture and what steps to take to harden your ONTAP storage environment according to NetApp best practices. You can regularly monitor your environment and adjust based on the latest NetApp software releases to keep your data safe and secure.

Most attacks involve an unsuspecting user or—sadly—even a rogue administrator. You need a level of scrutiny that includes 24/7 attention, which is easier to accomplish with NetApp Cloud Insights. This service carefully monitors your data to:

  • Highlight risks that can lead to an attack
  • Detect attacks the moment they happen
  • Perform automated actions to help avoid widespread damage

Whether it’s on premises or in the cloud, Cloud Insights gives you complete visibility into your infrastructure and applications by using Zero Trust technology. It continuously monitors user behavior, learning what’s normal for your users so that it can detect anomalies. When Cloud Insights detects an anomaly, it alerts you instantly and triggers immediate action, such as taking a Snapshot copy to assist in rapid recovery or blocking user file access to prevent data exfiltration.

Infrastructure services

Sometimes what you need is a bit more help: the expertise of a trusted partner to deliver against an SLA. To determine your data protection readiness before a ransomware threat occurs, NetApp offers a Data Protection and Security Assessment service to identify security gaps and vulnerabilities in your current environment—on premises and in the cloud—and provide actionable recommendations for closing those gaps to increase data resilience. For further confidence that you're prepared to protect your business from security threats, the NetApp Ransomware Monitoring and Reporting Service, included in the NetApp Flex Professional Services subscription, harnesses the power of Cloud Insights and Cloud Secure to provide another layer of protection for your environment. Together, these services help you respond and recover quickly if an attack gets through your defenses.

Continue reading about ransomware