菜单

为什么选择 NetApp 的数据保护解决方案?

NetApp 可针对各种灾难、人为错误和网络安全威胁提供强大的数据保护和快速恢复,避免被传统备份、安全和恢复解决方案所拖累。

四个白球各被切除四分之一

当今的混合云环境并非仅用“复杂”一词就能描述。分布在内部、私有云和公有云环境中的系统现在可运行数百个应用程序和工作负载,这些应用程序和工作负载由无数最终用户和物联网 (IoT) 设备馈送数据。层和相互依赖性以及隐藏的安全漏洞可能会彻底让人感到困惑。如果您认为传统备份、灾难恢复和安全措施是保护所有 IT 的最佳方式,那么您就不会来到这里。毕竟,传统的数据保护方法无法跟上 IT 现实的步伐。

  • 时间。在全天候性能需求与 40% 到 50% 的复合年数据增长率的双重压力下IDC:“2019 – 2024 年全球数据复制和保护软件预测:未来任务艰巨”,可接受的备份和恢复时间几乎达到了临界点。
  • 成本。如果您希望投资于创收活动,则需要在硬件和软件上投入更多资金来保护激增的数据。
  • 风险。说到令人沮丧的预算现实…面对持续的威胁以及有关数据保留期限、移动和存储位置的严格法规,您不能在数据保护上过分吝啬。

重点还是非重点:是时候进行战略性转变了

200 亿美元:2021 年勒索软件造成的估计损失网络犯罪杂志,“全球勒索软件造成的损失成本预计到 2021 年将达到 200 亿美元 (USD)”。

在大多数企业中,数据保护工作由众多参与者分担。安全团队负责处理外围的防火墙和病毒保护。存储团队专注于备份和灾难恢复。应用程序所有者通常至少对其解决方案承担部分责任。但是,在整个混合环境中,很容易忽略重要的注意事项和更新。简单的人为错误,网络安全威胁或不可预测的灾难,即可让整个组织面临风险。密码一旦泄露就会中断 Colonial Pipeline 的运营,对美国的地区燃油供应造成严重破坏。

而传统的备份、还原和灾难恢复解决方案无法提供保持正常运营所需的性能。毕竟,从磁带备份解决方案中获取数据副本可能需要数天的时间。磁盘到磁盘解决方案的性能更好,但仍可能需要数小时。此外,大多数灾难恢复解决方案中的数据镜像效率低下成本高昂。

因此,当存在所有潜在的恢复和安全漏洞时,您如何快速识别、响应威胁和从威胁中恢复?如何统一数据保护工作流?又如何在控制成本的同时做到这一切,以便增加对新业务驱动因素的投资?

数据保护,满足数据性能要求

借助 NetApp® 解决方案,可同时满足数据保护和数据性能的要求。这一切都与一种集成统一方法有关,该方法可解决从数据丢失到站点中断、应用程序或硬件故障、意外删除以及恶意软件、勒索软件和病毒等各种问题。在 NetApp,数据保护基于以下三大要素。

  • 保护。防止攻击,最大限度地减少数据丢失和停机。
  • 检测。主动识别内部和外部威胁。
  • 恢复。快速还原数据、工作负载和应用程序。

我们的方法和解决方案将备份和还原数据所需的时间从数天缩短到数小时,将灾难恢复时间从数小时缩短到数分钟,将并行系统的持续可用性从数分钟缩短到数秒。您的数据保护要求是一切方案背后的推动力;我们将围绕您的恢复时间目标 (RTO) 和恢复点目标 (RPO) 构建解决方案。

防止发生成本高昂的数据丢失和停机

现有数据保护方法在多大程度上消耗了生产存储中的资源?请考虑一下,为了凑数,许多基础架构供应商在进行性能测试时会关闭数据保护。NetApp 不会这样做。我们通过将数据保护成为数据管理的基础来正确地进行数据保护。

现代数据存储基于 NetApp ONTAP® 数据管理软件构建,可通过 S3 对象访问提供统一存储。它还为 Microsoft Windows 和 Linux 客户端以及企业应用程序提供块和文件并发数据访问。NetApp 技术可以帮助将存储利用率需求降低多达 70%,同时提供强大的加密和高效的数据移动性。此外,我们的组合功能还可以有效地解决勒索软件和其他威胁问题,同时让您能够跨云智能地管理数据。没有比在 NetApp 系统上管理数据更好的地方了。

  • 减少。将备份和灾难恢复时间减少到几秒钟,同时降低备份服务器成本并提高应用程序性能。
  • 优化。通过实时原位加密提高数据安全性和保留率,通过多因素身份验证防止不必要的访问以及不可变、不可消除的数据副本,提高安全性和数据保留能力。
  • 最大化。通过并发备份和灾难恢复,提高效率和数据重用率。我们的解决方案可提供统一复制、支持在生产工作负载中重用数据的本机数据访问,以及可降低存储成本的对象存储分层。

为了将数据占用空间减少近 50%,同时减少与云之间的数据流量,广岛县政府使用了 NetApp SnapMirror® 功能和 ONTAP 中的本机数据精简技术。

检测勒索软件、病毒和其他严重威胁

有效的数据分析可帮助您检测和防范最严重的威胁。面临的挑战是及时获取指标并具备相应的能力来处理指标。

NetApp Cloud Insights 可监控文件访问模式以确定可疑的用户活动,以便识别潜在的勒索软件攻击受害者并阻止攻击。

NetApp ONTAP 针对异常的存储指标(包括意外数据增长、NetApp Snapshot 副本预留空间以及效率损失)提供警报,以帮助识别可能的感染。此外,您还可以通过 ONTAP 阻止具有已知恶意扩展名的文件,或者允许具有安全文件扩展名的文件,与领先的病毒保护软件集成并提供审核日志记录。

只需几秒或几分钟即可恢复

复杂性是导致备份和灾难恢复成本和时间增加的罪魁祸首。依赖传统数据保护方法可能既昂贵又繁琐。从磁带或流式备份还原数据可能需要数小时的时间,从而导致收入和用户工作效率下降。

有了 NetApp,一切便能迎刃而解。我们可以提供集成的数据保护解决方案,将备份和灾难恢复时间缩短到几分钟或几秒,几乎消除了停机时间。我们的解决方案具有以下优势:

  • 操作恢复速度更快 — 使用 Snapshot 副本在几秒钟内恢复文件、目录和卷;通过使用精细时间点副本,最大限度地减少数据丢失
  • 可从内部或云端的二级副本更快速地恢复数据;块级保护消除了设备之间不必要的数据传输
  • 快速的灾难恢复 — 只需几秒或几分钟,即可从干净的本地或远程 Snapshot 副本还原 PB 级数据

IGZ 是一家面向 SAP 客户的解决方案和服务提供商,借助 NetApp Snapshot 技术完成快速恢复,可实现近乎 100% 的正常运行时间。

请继续阅读

Menu

Why NetApp for data protection

NetApp delivers robust data protection and rapid recovery for the gamut of catastrophes, human error, and cybersecurity threats—minus the drag of traditional backup, security, and recovery solutions.

four white spheres with a quarter cut out

“Complex” doesn’t begin to describe today’s hybrid cloud environments. Systems spread across on prem, private and public cloud environments now run hundreds of applications and workloads that are fed data by countless end-user and Internet of Things (IoT) devices. The layers and interdependencies—and hidden security gaps—can be downright bewildering. If you believed that traditional backup, disaster recovery, and security measures were the best way to protect all of it, you wouldn’t be here. After all, traditional approaches to data protection can’t keep pace with IT realities.

  • Time. Between 24/7 performance demands and compound annual data growth rates of 40% to 50%IDC, "Worldwide Data Replication and Protection Software Forecast, 2019–2024: Rough Waters Ahead.", acceptable backup and recovery times are being stretched to breaking points.
  • Cost. You’re spending more on hardware and software to protect proliferating data, when you want to be investing in revenue-generating activities.
  • Risk. Speaking of frustrating budget realities… you can’t afford to skimp on data protection in the face of continual threats and strict regulations around data retention periods, movement, and storage locations.

Pivot or else: It’s time for a strategic shift

$20 billion: the estimated damages from ransomware for 2021Cybercrime Magazine, "Global Ransomware Damage Costs Predicted to Reach $20 Billion (USD) by 2021.

In most organizations, data protection efforts are divided among a host of players. Security teams handle firewalls and virus protection for the perimeter. Storage teams focus on backup and disaster recovery. Application owners often take at least partial responsibility for their solutions. Yet it’s easy to overlook important considerations and updates throughout hybrid environments. And all it takes is a simple human error, cybersecurity threat, or unforeseen disaster to expose the entire organization. A single compromised password disrupted the Colonial Pipeline and wreaked havoc on regional fuel supplies in the United States.

And traditional backup, restore, and disaster recovery solutions can’t deliver the performance needed to keep operations humming. After all, it can take days to get copies of data from tape backup solutions. Disk-to-disk solutions perform better, but they can still take hours. Moreover, the mirroring of data in most disaster recovery solutions is inefficient and costly.

So, with all the potential recovery and security gaps, how can you quickly identify, respond to, and recover from threats? How can you unify data protection workflows? And how can you do it all while keeping costs in check so you can increase investments in new business drivers?

Data protection, meet data performance

With NetApp® solutions, data protection and data performance go hand in hand. It’s all about an integrated and unified approach for addressing everything from data loss to site outages; application or hardware failure; accidental deletion; and malware, ransomware, and viruses. At NetApp, data protection is built on three pillars.

  • Protect. Prevent attacks and minimize data losses and downtime.
  • Detect. Proactively identify internal and external threats.
  • Recover. Quickly restore data, workloads, and applications.

Our approach and solutions slash the time it takes to backup and restore your data from days to hours, disaster recovery times from hours to minutes, and continuous availability from parallel systems from minutes to seconds. Your data protection requirements are the impetus behind everything; we build solutions around your recovery time objectives (RTOs) and recovery point objectives (RPOs).

Protect against costly data losses and downtime

How significantly do existing approaches to data protection drain resources from production storage? Just consider that, to pad their numbers, many infrastructure vendors turn off data protection when they do performance testing. Not NetApp. We do data protection right by making it foundational to data management.

Modern data storage, built on NetApp ONTAP® data management software, provides unified storage with S3 object access. It also provides block and file concurrent data access for Microsoft Windows and Linux clients and enterprise applications. NetApp technologies can help reduce storage utilization needs by as much as 70% while delivering strong encryption and efficient data mobility. And our combined capabilities provide effective workarounds to ransomware and other threats while enabling you to intelligently manage data across clouds. There's no better place to manage your data than on NetApp systems.

  • Reduce. Cut backup and disaster recovery windows to seconds while lowering backup server costs and speeding up application performance.
  • Optimize. Improve data security and retention with inline and in-place encryption, multifactor authentication to prevent unwanted access, and immutable, indelible data copies for better security and data retention.
  • Maximize. Increase efficiency and data reuse through concurrent backup and disaster recovery. Our solutions provide unified replication, native data access that enables data reuse in production workloads, and object storage tiering to reduce storage cost.

The Hiroshima Prefectural Government used the NetApp SnapMirror® feature and native data reduction in ONTAP to reduce its data footprint by nearly 50% while also reducing data traffic to and from the cloud.

Detect ransomware, viruses, and other critical threats

Effective data analysis can help you detect and head off most critical threats. The challenge is catching the indicators in time—and having the capabilities in place to do something about them.

NetApp Cloud Insights monitors file access patterns for suspicious user activities so you can identify potential ransomware attack victims and stop attacks in their tracks.

NetApp ONTAP provides alerts for unusual storage indicators, including unexpected data growth and NetApp Snapshot copy reserve space, as well as efficiency loss, to help identify possible infections. ONTAP also enables you to block files with known malicious extensions or allow files with safe file extensions, integrate with leading virus protection software, and provide audit logging.

Recover in mere seconds or minutes

Complexity is a key culprit in driving up the cost and time involved in backup and disaster recovery. Relying on traditional data protection approaches can be costly and cumbersome. Restoring data from tape or streaming backup can take hours, resulting in potential loss of revenue and user productivity.

Not with NetApp. We can provide integrated data protection solutions that cut backup and disaster recovery times to minutes or seconds—practically eliminating downtime. Our solutions provide:

  • Faster operational recovery—use Snapshot copies to recover files, directories, and volumes in seconds; minimize data loss by using granular point-in-time copies
  • Quicker data recovery from secondary on-premises or cloud-based copies; block-level protection eliminates unnecessary data transfers between devices
  • Rapid disaster recovery—restore petabytes in seconds or minutes from clean local or remote Snapshot copies

IGZ, a solution and service provider for SAP customers, delivers near 100% uptime with the help of rapid recovery using NetApp Snapshot technology.

Keep reading