Netapp Recognises Cutting-Edge Customers With 2009 Netapp Innovation Awards

New Zealand’s Weta Digital beats other APAC entrants to win regional award

Sydney, AUSTRALIA - 27 May 2010 - NetApp (NASDAQ: NTAP) announced that it will honor the winners of the 2009 NetApp Innovation Awards tonight during an awards ceremony at the Hotel Valencia in San Jose, California. This year marks the sixth consecutive year of the NetApp Innovation Awards, which recognise customers who have implemented NetApp® solutions in an innovative way to positively impact their business.

"The NetApp Innovation Awards give us the opportunity to shine the spotlight on our customers and recognise them for the significant business impacts they achieved using NetApp solutions," said Tom Georgens, president and chief executive officer, NetApp. "This year's nominees, finalists, and winners showcase how successful businesses are built on NetApp technology. They have once again raised the bar and their achievements demonstrate the power of the NetApp and customer partnership."

This year more than 200 nominees were submitted for awards in the following five categories: Innovator of the Year, Enterprise Infrastructure, Green, Public Sector, and Individual. One winner and two finalists were selected in each category by a third-party panel of judges comprised of well-respected business and technology experts from the media and business communities. The Innovator of the Year category recognises one winner from each of the following three global geographies: Americas, APAC, and EMEA.

2009 NetApp Innovation Award Winners:

  • Innovator of the Year-Americas: Microsoft Corporation
  • Innovator of the Year-APAC: Weta Digital
  • Innovator of the Year-EMEA: BT Global Services
  • Enterprise Infrastructure: WNS Global Services
  • Green: T-Systems
  • Public Sector: Pennsylvania Office of Attorney General
  • Individual: Robert Ross, Chief Security Officer and Senior Vice President of Network and Technical Services, Data Centre, Inc.

2009 NetApp Innovation Award Finalists:

  • Enterprise Infrastructure: Tier 3 and HDFC Standard Life
  • Green: Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP and Financial Technologies India Ltd.
  • Public Sector: SALK-Salzburger Landeskliniken and Albuquerque Bernalillo County Water Utility Authority
  • Individual: Phil Nail, CTO,, and Dirk Sibiet, Regional Service Delivery Manager, ABN AMRO Bank N.V.

The NetApp Innovation Awards program distinguishes itself by relying on a prestigious third-party panel of judges for the five main categories. These judges determine the award winners based on their outside expertise and a critical, unbiased assessment of real-world NetApp deployments at customer sites.

Innovation Award judges for 2009 included:

  • Tracy Burrows, Editor, ITWeb iWeek
  • Jimmie Chang, Principal Research Analyst, Storage, Greater China, Gartner
  • Deni Connor, Principal Analyst, Storage Strategies NOW, and Contributing Editor, Network World
  • Carsten Knop, Senior Business Editor, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung
  • Vijay Ramachandran, Editor-in-Chief, IDG Media India Pvt. Ltd.
  • Larry Walsh, Vice President and Group Publisher, Ziff Davis Enterprise Channel Insider

Discuss this news in the NetApp Community, where you can exchange thoughts and ideas on a variety of topics with our community members. Collaborate with our company, engage in conversation with NetApp leaders and employees, and participate in our passion to go further, faster. Join now at

About NetApp
NetApp creates innovative storage and data management solutions that accelerate business breakthroughs and deliver outstanding cost efficiency. Discover our passion for helping companies around the world go further, faster at

Media Contact:
Rachel York
Max Australia
+61 2 9954 3492

NetApp, the NetApp logo, Go further, faster, and Data ONTAP are trademarks or registered trademarks of NetApp, Inc. in the United States and/or other countries. VMware is a registered trademark of VMware, Inc. All other brands or products are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective holders and should be treated as such.